A Journey into Film

MJ_2003

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, after many digital years (M9, MM and now M10) I have decided to try out analog. I picked up an M7 and shot my first roll of HP5 over the weekend. I had it developed at a reasonable high end lab and had them do a basic scan.

Here is one of the shots. As a complete beginner I have no idea if this looks ok or not; not talking about composition here.

Looks very grainy and dark to me? It was a cloudy afternoon and from memory I was at f8 and 250 with the current 75mm 'cron and on manual exp.

Anyhow I was hoping those of you more used to looking at scanned film negatives might comment, thanks in advance.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 1

Having your negatives scanned at a lab makes sense for trying out if film suits you at all. Looks decent for a batch work. However:

Once you want to exert more control over the results, you most propably will have to do the scans yourself. The type of scanner hardware, software and presets (standard, automatic, on a film-by-film basis or on an individual image-by-image basis ) etc. all have a huge influence on the result and may drastically alter the impression you get from the very same negative. The lighting under the roof might have been a bit difficult, but different scanning parameters might have rendered more greytone separation in the shady areas. The gradation is also critically dependent on developer type, dilution, temperature, timing etc.

Many labs do their scans as an alternative to contact prints of old, thus they use moderate scan resolutions and highly compressed jpeg files which will limit your postprocessiong options.

I cannot give a definite comment on resolution, true grain vs pseudo-grain etc. in a

<<<<<<<