50mm Summicron: Rigid vs V5

TRIago

Advertisement (gone after registration)

So, I was just playing around with my two 50's. These are just quick tests and I will upload more later on.

Rigid @ F2:

50mm_Cron_Rigid_01.jpg

V5 @ F2:

50mm_Cron_V5_01.jpg

Rigid @ F4:

50mm_Cron_Rigid_02.jpg

V5 @ F4:

50mm_Cron_V5_02.jpg

Rigid @ F8:

50mm_Cron_Rigid_03.jpg

V5 @ F8:

50mm_Cron_V5_03.jpg

To my eyes, the Rigid is sharper wide open in the center. While the V5 does a better job on the edges.

The Rigid is just amazing.

I'm no pro in doing comparisons, I just kept all the same settings in the camera (M9), tripod and cable release.

These are raw converted to Jpgs with zero post in Lightroom.

Will post more later.

• Like 3

All I see is vignetting from Rigid even at f8.  

I always liked a touch of vignetting; I suppose from the old days under an enlarger when blocking corners with a waving card was standard practice. However, it has its place and not appropriate for all pics (I especially like even soft tones with no vignetting, while harsher light seems to go better with darker corners).

Regards,

Bob

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I always liked a touch of vignetting; I suppose from the old days under an enlarger when blocking corners with a waving card was standard practice. However, it has its place and not appropriate for all pics (I especially like even soft tones with no vignetting, while harsher light seems to go better with darker corners).

Regards,

Bob

I still print under enlarger, BTW. :)  Just yesterday.

• Like 1

This is the ugliest city I have ever seen. Your pictures are ok though. Where is it?

São Paulo. Not pretty but full of life, that is for sure. Pics are just for the sake of testing. But thanks, tho.
  • Like 1

What amazes me is the amount of lens flare (at all of the tested apertures) of the V5, from the moon in the first series.