Anyone shooting Large Format on here apart from me?

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

Advertisement (gone after registration)

So I recently started shooting LF, starting with 4x5 and now using 8x10. I have also built my own smallish darkroom in my Condo in Kuala Lumpur and have a 6x7 color enlarger (I'm not planning on using the color enlarger for color film) but using it for 8x10 contact prints and 120mm enlargements. I would really like to enlarge 4 x5's but the enlarger is massive so no chance of doing that in KL but maybe in Phuket as I have a lot more room there.

So if anyone on here is shooting LF where do you get your film from? do you us a consensual enlarger or do you do like me, either make contact prints or scan. The scanning is relatively easy and potentially you can have really massive files, personally I just use the 600 dpi setting on my Epson V850 and for a 8x10 that gives me a 50 ish MB file, I cant imagine what the 5200 dpi setting would give you :)

What about traveling with it, have you attempted changing film in the field, and flying with it?

Anyway just wanted to see if there was any other crazy LF photographers on here?

Neil

Yes, I am back to 4x5 and use an Ilford 500 multigrade head on an Omega enlarger.

I have shot 8x10 but no longer. I'll be selling three 8x10 cameras and some lenses when I can.

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

Not yet' but I'm intending to buy a 4x5 in the next few months and have begun my research.

Michael its very addictive..............I am sure you will enjoy it :)

• Like 1

This has always been a goal of mine when I retire - I just don't have the spare time to properly devote to it now.  My darkroom though is ready to go for 4x5 - I have a multi-contrast head on an Omega D2V enlarger. 

Guest NEIL-D-WILLIAMS

Yes, I am back to 4x5 and use an Ilford 500 multigrade head on an Omega enlarger.

I have shot 8x10 but no longer. I'll be selling three 8x10 cameras and some lenses when I can.

Pico