Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all- Thanks for your response in advance. 

I bought a used M240 recently followed by a new MP 240. I am new to Leica and come from the Sony/Nikon world. so please excuse me if this question is stupid. 

I set both camera's to exact same firmware, same menu settings, same metering modes etc Below are my observations can you please validate if there is a issue

1. The LCD on MP240 looks less brighter and has a more warmer tone than M240 - Is this the case because of the Sapphire glass? 

2. MP 240 under exposes compared to M 240? - same conditions, same lens,  I tend to find MP 240 under exposing. is this common? 

3. The B&W Film simulation images from MP 240 are a bit more vintagy looking than M240 or bit warmer than M240? 

Please see the attached image for the LCD issue (maybe not a issue). ignore the metering in the image thats just me playing around. 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

I really appreciate your assistance in validating the above. Glad to be a part of this community. 

- Donny 

Leica seem to have adopted a minimalist approach when designing the LCDs. They don't attempt to show true colours (shooting raw, it would be irrelevant). They do give you all the information you need to have confidence in what you have captured. I don't have a P to compare. Don't forget exposure is an art not a science.

Welcome to the forum.

I have never seen a camera where the LCD rendered an image identical to a calibrated screen, despite some brands incorporating colour controls (has anybody ever used that gimmick?)

Nor does an LCD give a reliable indication of exposure, it is too dependent on ambient light and LCD brightness settings, not to mention the variability of human perception.

Exposure is indicated by clipping warnings and the histogram.