Jump to content

The Leica Forum uses cookies. Read the privacy statement for more info. To remove this message, please click the button to the right:    OK, understood.

Photo
- - - - -

M10 Stuck On ISO 400


  • Please log in to reply
358 replies to this topic

#1 barbiaux.john

barbiaux.john

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 01:36

Advertisement (Gone after free registration)
Ugh... Honeymoon is over. My M10 is stuck on ISO no matter what. Tried resetting, different battery, different SD card, auto ISO, manual ISO, changed the dial, etc... nothing changes it. If you enter main menu it says "ISO Setup" ISO400... but when you enter that menu it's M-ISO is set to 100, max ISO set to 1600, and max exposure time is 1/f.

Any ideas?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#2 Soden

Soden

    Neuer Benutzer

  • Members
  • 327 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 02:43

You could try Portra 800 ;)

It needs service. You've done all the basics. Maybe your dealer can swap it out.
  • Overgaard and JMF said thank you to this

#3 don daniel

don daniel

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 1,471 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 10:38

What does your ISO button show?



#4 barbiaux.john

barbiaux.john

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 14:10

What does your ISO button show?


It doesn't matter. No matter where I rotate it the internal menu says ISO 400. This wasn't the case last week when all worked as intended. If I set everything to ISO 6400 it will still shoot at ISO 400.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#5 lucerne

lucerne

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 829 posts
  • LocationDevon U.K. Or on a trip!
  • City / Ort:Torquay on The English Riviera

Posted 30 April 2017 - 14:44

Have you reset the camera from the menu? It's obviously stuck in some unwanted mode. A reset will give you a chance to start again from factory settings and can do no harm. Good luck.
---

Gordon
Devon, UK.

#6 chris_tribble

chris_tribble

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 4,090 posts
  • LocationLondon / Kendal
  • City / Ort:London / Kendal

Posted 30 April 2017 - 15:40

Reset definitely the way to go.  You can always save your preferences before you do and reload from SD.


  • Vectorio said thank you to this

#7 Stealth3kpl

Stealth3kpl

    Half wit

  • Members
  • 3,042 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 15:51

Ugh... .................. Tried resetting, 

:-(

Pete


  • danielre and lucerne said thank you to this

#8 barbiaux.john

barbiaux.john

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 30 April 2017 - 16:09

:-(
Pete


Yep, tried all of it. Emailed Leica support so we shall see Monday I suppose. I imagine it will need to be sent in. The only thing I can guess is perhaps the ISO dial decoupled from whatever it is supposed to adjust internally at ISO 400 and it's stuck there, overriding all other settings. I'm not an expert at the mechanics so please go easy. Lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  • lucerne and Leicauser7 said thank you to this

#9 barbiaux.john

barbiaux.john

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 01 May 2017 - 15:40

**Update - Leica is sending me a shipping label to send the camera in for service. I will update here once I get a conclusion.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#10 Mike Rawcs

Mike Rawcs

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 700 posts

Posted 01 May 2017 - 18:41

Leica service is exemplary, I'm sure that it will be a good outcome.



#11 barbiaux.john

barbiaux.john

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 02 May 2017 - 02:17

Leica service is exemplary, I'm sure that it will be a good outcome.


Thanks Mike, they did a great job with my M262 (had a bad sensor and shutter mechanism). Only drawback was that it took about a month. Hopefully the turn around on the M10 will be a little quicker. Luckily, I still have the 262 as a backup.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#12 Hey You

Hey You

    Benutzer

  • Members
  • 131 posts
  • City / Ort:Montreal

Posted 07 May 2017 - 12:46

I have the same experience as you, except that my M10 is stuck on ISO 100.

 

I presumed that it was a firmware corruption, and tried to load an uncorrupted version, but was unable to do so.

 

I don't want to send it back to Leica just to have the firmware reinstalled.

 

There must be a simpler solution.

 

Please let me know Leica resolves your problem.



#13 barbiaux.john

barbiaux.john

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 26 posts

Posted 09 May 2017 - 00:49

I have the same experience as you, except that my M10 is stuck on ISO 100.

I presumed that it was a firmware corruption, and tried to load an uncorrupted version, but was unable to do so.

I don't want to send it back to Leica just to have the firmware reinstalled.

There must be a simpler solution.

Please let me know Leica resolves your problem.


Sure, I'll let you know. They are working on it now. I'll post here when I get it back with an update.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#14 Hey You

Hey You

    Benutzer

  • Members
  • 131 posts
  • City / Ort:Montreal

Posted 09 May 2017 - 02:35

Leica NJ told me to send mine in,



#15 riswanc

riswanc

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 148 posts

Posted 22 May 2017 - 04:30

I think i will set the iso dial to M

And change it a more traditional way through its menu :(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#16 Hey You

Hey You

    Benutzer

  • Members
  • 131 posts
  • City / Ort:Montreal

Posted 29 May 2017 - 21:58

I sent my M10 to Leica NJ on May 9th, and got it back on May 29th.  

There was no documentation accompanying the camera to explain what the problem was.

Everything now seems to work as it should.

 

A contributing factor may have been that I often changed user profiles and menu settings.

I will do that less frequently in future.



#17 Bill W

Bill W

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Premium Member
  • 3,727 posts
  • LocationCentral Texas

Posted 29 May 2017 - 23:25

I had to send in my M246 twice to Leica NJ for issues and each time I got it back, there was no explanation of what was the issue exactly and what was done to solve it. It seems that in the past they well documented this or perhaps since it is under warranty, they do not feel like it needs explaining. My other thought is that they do not wish to have issues discussed on forums and start rumors about systemic problems. My big issue with my M246 was a line across every frame at the top. While it was fixed, there was no explanation. I emailed them and got no response as to what was fixed.  I must say that the turn around time was not bad being just a few weeks I just wish there had been better communication.



#18 jaapv

jaapv

    Moderator

  • Moderators
  • 48,230 posts
  • LocationBehind a Red Dot
  • City / Ort:Hellevoetsluis

Posted 30 May 2017 - 00:01

I think i will set the iso dial to M

And change it a more traditional way through its menu :(


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

A bit of a useless ornament in that case.


Jaap

WWW.JAAPVPHOTOGRAPHY.EU

Posts in blue bold font are made as a moderator

Leica user since 1976

 

I like taking pictures of Dogs because they don't object to being photographed - and they don't ask for prints.

Elliot Erwitt


#19 digitalfx

digitalfx

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Moderators
  • 2,267 posts

Posted 30 May 2017 - 01:15

 

 

A contributing factor may have been that I often changed user profiles and menu settings.

I will do that less frequently in future.

 

 

I wouldn't be afraid to change profiles often, nor the menu settings.



#20 riswanc

riswanc

    Erfahrener Benutzer

  • Members
  • 148 posts

Posted 30 May 2017 - 02:20

A bit of a useless ornament in that case.


Indeed, but pulling up aint easy either way

And my shooting environment is of steadier lighting


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


1 user(s) are reading this topic