B&W processing critique

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am interested in receiving critique on some of my digital B&W processing. I am just starting out with this.

For example, I have tried everything to do something with this image which was rather bland in colour.

Any comments as to what I am missing or overdoing much appreciated.

Many thanks, and I hope that it is ok to post this here.

M-P 240, 35mm f2 Asph.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

It's a fine photograph of a telephone wire, or is it a cliff?

Anyway whatever, it needs 'oomph', a technical term that combines the elements of correct exposure with natural overall contrast with some micro contrast. So increase the overall brightness and see how it then looks, if still flat add some overall contrast keeping an eye on the histogram, and after this I suspect you will still need some more 'oomph' in the shadows to the right of the scene, so lift them with contrast and brightness in that area. When it is nearly perfect you could then pretend you'd taken a step to the left and clone out the telephone wire, or the cliff.

• Like 1

Yes Pico, this is exactly my problem.

I always shot slide film before coming to digital, so processing has been a challenge for me.

In B&W, I have experimented by taking a RAW file and trying to get it to look like the MP 240 B&W out of camera JPGs, which has helped.

Now I am trying to be more creative or whatever you want to call it. But I have a difficult time assessing when I'm overdoing it. I see a lot of B&W pictures posted on the web that look to me to be over-processed but get a lot of positive remarks, so I doubt my own judgement.

Maybe the idea of taking a bland picture and trying to make it look good in B&W is not a good starting point. I am just struggling a little with how to improve my technique.

• Like 1