who still uses the S (006/SE/S2) still today ? thinking about getting in agian

proenca

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi there,

I'm thinking moving into the S line again. I used a S2 years ago and since I'm not a professional, I sold it due to the fact at the time needed money.

Now, I have a M9, MDtyp262, 28lux and 50lux and... while I'm thrilled with the 28lux and somewhat happy with the 50lux, I'm not so happy with the MD.

I love the concept and its UBER fun to use, its really like shooting film digitally, but I dont like the colours. I really dont. I rather pick my M9 and shoot colour - I never paid any attention to CMOS vs CCD discussions, but I really dont like the color that the MD outputs. And while I love to post processing and spending time doing so, not 

Also, my eyes are not what they were and focusing sometimes its a bit of a challenge - and I like to use my lens wide open

So I have a few options :

- trade in the MD + 50 lux + cash for a S006+70mm 2.5 ; I'll get my good colors back, my lovey bokeh back, AF and my beloved 70mm. for longer I plan buying the Contax adapter and few contax lenses ,for wider perhaps the Contax 35mm or even the S30mm

- trade in the MD + 50 lux + cash for a SL + M adapter : I'll get 4k video, AF if I get the 24-90, superb ISO range but.... perhaps I dont like the colours. Seems the SL sensor is a M10/Q sensor, bit different from the M240/M262 variants and better color corrected - but perhaps its just me.

I love the S line. For a lot of reasons : I like the lenses that were designed to be "the best, no compromises". If I trade in my 28lux, I'll loose 1.4 abilities all together and can get a 30mm S if i put a bit more cash. And later on getting a Contax adapter and pickup a 140 and 210m for peanuts. I shoot mainly landscapes and my kids. Yes, nothing very exciting I'm afraid but I love it. Few things worry me about the S :