Best photo software for a newstarter?

I'm new to the world of digital photo processing and trying to make a decision on which software to go for. Is Lightroom 6 the best or is there other software available which is relatively easy to learn to use and which doesnt cost a fortune? Any advice please?

LR 6 hardly costs "a fortune" and is an excellent image processing choice. It's easy to learn and use, and works very well. You can buy it as a perpetual license app too, without need of buying into a subscription (see https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-cloud/help/download-install-single-app-Lightroom-6.html for details on that. I would say that for $150, it's likely one of the best available options.

Edited by ramarren
  • Like 1

LR 6 hardly costs "a fortune" and is an excellent image processing choice. It's easy to learn and use, and works very well. You can buy it as a perpetual license app too, without need of buying into a subscription (see https://helpx.adobe.com/creative-cloud/help/download-install-single-app-Lightroom-6.html for details on that. I would say that for $150, it's likely one of the best available options.

Ooops, sorry, I should have worded my original post differently. I certinly didnt intend it to sound as if I thought that LR6 costs a fortune. On the contrary, I think LR6 price is very reasonable. I wanted to ask if there was any other software that compares to it in the same price range.

The software will be used for amateur light work at home. By the sounds of it there isnt much competition to it out there so I might as well just go for it. Cheers

guys.