How much developer to use when developing one role of 35mm film in a Patterson two-tank system?

RayD28

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Using one role of 24 Ilford HP5+ 400 at box speed using DDX.  Not pushing and plan to use standard chemical ratios.  Do I fill the tank and use the same ratios as if developing two roles?  This is my first try at home developing.  Thanks for your advice.  

Edited by Raycpa
  • Like 1

I'm using masive developing chart (google it) to find developing time and mixing ratio for any film, developer. Inford has PDF as well for DD-X.

Then I put reel into the tank and cover it with extra one, one and half centimeters of water above the reel. I empty this water from developing tank to the measuring cylinder, same I use to mix developer. It shows me the amount of working mix.

I divide this number by ratio number (water) plus one (developer) in developing chart. The result is how much developer I need to use.

1:4 for DD-X. 350ml in the tank with covered reel. 350:5 is 70 ml of DD-X. 70 of DD-X stock plus four times 70 of water for working mix.

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I always fill the tank for the reasons Pico states, but in the past always used replentished working solution instead of one-shot, so it didn't waste developer. Now that I've slowed down to one roll occasionally with Rodinal I picked up a 1-reel tank, so it only needs 250 ml per roll.

• Like 1

Same ratio obviously but you don't need to fill the tank. Just make sure you cover the entire reel with solution and put the second reel on top.

Not if one uses inversion agitation. Heard of surge patterns? Leaving the empty upper reel above the developer leaves a huge cavity of air so that the developer surges through the reels and film. That's never good.

• Like 2