New to Macro Question

roverover

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am new to and interested in exploring Macro photography using M240 and M-Macro Ring or Oufro adapters.

My questions are regarding DOF.

How does the addition of a macro setup generally alter DOF, does extending the lens from the body diminish the normal DOF parameters for a given lens without a Macro ring,

and would the DOF of a Wide angle vs. Tele lens be more or less affected by the macro setup?

If anyone experienced can comment i'd appreciate hearing about it?

Adding an OUFRO will shorten the DOF significantly. The wides will of course give you more DOF but focus distance will also be shorter (you need to get really close). A tele lens will give you a razor thin DOF but a longer working distance. For flowers I usually use OUFRO and Elmar 24, that works very nice and gives enough DOF. Bear in mind that the OUFRO will give you a very short focus distance. Best way to focus is just by moving the camera back and forth with live view and focus peaking. For critical focus a tripod and magnification are nice additions. Best way is simply to play:)! Good luck!!

I did some experiments with different M-mount lenses and their close-up performance at the M240. However, I just looked at magnification and minimum object width/size, not at DOF (which is indeed very low). 

If you are interested anyway, possible "entry page" to this might be: http://www.waloszek.de/m240_mm_closeup_e.php

This is the start page of a more general discussion: http://www.waloszek.de/m240_closeup_e.php

As mmx_2 wrote, OUFRO + Elmar 24 is a good combination (see also here: http://www.waloszek.de/m240_lea24_e.php#close_op )

Best regards, Gerd

P.S.: It took me some effort to make the links work...

Edited by waloszek

I have the leica apo Elmarit 100mm 2.8 R6, along with the elpro 2:1 and the leica R to M converter.

with live view or the EVF you will get pretty close.