First Leica SL or M240?

Copic

Advertisement (gone after registration)

My father is looking for a nice camera and I am suggesting a Leica.  I shoot Leica M3, M5, and M6 as a hobby (film is sadly getting expensive though so I don't shoot as much anymore).  He has been a Nikon shooter his whole life but hasn't had a new camera since his D300 which is about 10 years old now (okay he has a Sony RX100 III).

He just retired and wants a nice camera which is nice to use and takes great photos (obviously the photographer makes great photos and not the camera) but he isn't sure what to go with.  He wants to be able to shoot interiors, people and landscapes.  For the SL there is a lens which covers 28-90mm or in the M system he could buy three individual lenses which suit his needs.  Money isn't as important as finding the right camera.

I have no experience with the SL system but have used the M 240 and M9 cameras briefly.  I think the SL will be more comfortable for him but I am definitely partial to the M series as I think it offers a more unique "Leica experience".  He went to the local Leica boutique and liked both cameras but does not know which is better.  He liked the SL which he said is almost as lightweight as the M240...but I cannot imagine walking around with that big of camera and lens. 

Which camera will produce the best results with minimal processing (something my father is not that familiar with)?  Also which lenses would you recommend for him?  I think he wants lenses that produce a Leica look (i.e. something that you cannot get with a Nikon, Canon, or Sony). 

It is a question of weight and eyes and if later on other lenses will be used for special things like

macros. I had a M 240 - which was excellent with following lenses: 18 mm, 28 mm, 50 mm and 90 mm

(macro) and used the EVF in addition because of my eyes. That was a good solution and not heavy, but