Recommendation for a 50mm Summicron

Beena22

Advertisement (gone after registration)

His there. I've been lurking for a while whilst weighing up the notion of buying my first Leica and thought I'd get some info from your experts on what lens to go for.

A bit of background on me - I'm a hobbyist and started out using Fuji cameras a few years back (X100, XE1) as I liked the manual feel of them and the form factor. I was lucky enough to be gifted a Sony A7 by a ridiculously generous soul on a forum I frequent, which gave me a taste of full frame loveliness. I love the image quality I get from the Sony and I only ever use M-mount lenses on it (actually more accurately - LTM lenses) as I love the involvement with manual glass and the small size. I currently have some Jupiter lenses along with a Voigtlander Norton Classic 35mm and also an Elmar-C 90mm. as good as the A7 is, I don't feel an emotional attachment with it, as it is all buttons and menus and I hanker for something simpler and more elegant. I've coveted digital Leica Ms for a while but they have always been way out of my price range I felt, but I've decided to bite the bullet and save up for a used M9 (especially after trying one out recently at a store). I tend to shoot mostly 50s so the obvious choice is to go for a Summicron as they are so widely regarded. I can't stretch to a Summilux and to be honest I like to keep the whole setup as compact as possible, so the Cron would help with that. I also want to keep costs as low as possible as I'm not a wealthy guy. With this in mind - what are the various versions of Crons out there and how do they perform? Any info would be gratefully received.

Sorry for the long rambling first post.