An Appreciation Of The SL By A Confirmed M User

johnbuckley

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been using an M for nearly 15 years, only rarely wishing to have a camera that offers things the M does not: autofocus, the ability to easily use native long lenses and zooms, etc.  But the SL really intrigued me when it was introduced, and I've been using one since April.

There have been some really excellent reviews of the SL, many linked here, by both professional reviewers and others moved to offer their perspective.  I've just put up on my site a different sort of "review" -- it's an appreciation, really, of the SL in the context of my deep and abiding love of the M system.  Or alternatively, it's an appreciation of the M in the context of my new and abiding love of the SL.

I hope that both confirmed SL users and M system photographers will find it useful.

https://tulipfrenzy.com/2016/07/11/an-appreciation-of-the-leica-sl-by-a-confirmed-leica-m-photographer/

• Like 8

Great review and I agree with your take on the EVF in bright daylight. After using an M240 for about 2 years I just purchased the SL to use with my M lenses. I didn't purchase either of the SL lenses. I used the SL with the M 35mm summilux for the first time this weekend in Chicago where it was very bright and sunny. At times it was very difficult to see in the EVF (glasses don't help but a necessity). Manual focusing was very difficult at those times and I think would have been easier with the M. In the end the photos were great (and in focus) and for me justified the purchase of the SL. So I am going to keep the M240 along side the SL and most likely purchase the SL 50mm when it's released.

Interesting review. Not bad, but can't agree with all of it.