M9 Sensor Corrosion and Option for Free Replacement or Voucher

RayD28

Advertisement (gone after registration)

It appears my sensor has the corrosion. I called Leica NJ and they said send it in for inspection and if corrosion is confirmed they'll either issue a voucher toward a new model or replace sensor for free and that would take about four months. I have had the M9 for a few months and so I'm not an expert on what i can and can't do with this model. Have many people opted for the voucher and bought a new M or M-P? If so, what tipped the scale?
BTW, I bought the M9 for about $2,000, it had about 1,500 clicks, and is in my opinion very clean with no blemishes.

If I went the voucher route I'd get the M-P. Biggest factor is stealthiness and sapphire LCD. Live view would be nice but I don't need (or want) the video feature. 

I'm new to the forum so please forgive if I posted this in wrong section

Thanks.

Edited by jaapv
made legible

4 months is probably accurate. I sent my M9P in in late January. Received the notice a sensor replacement was in order and I should have it back around April 5 and have heard nothing since. I'm calling today to obtain a status, but mid-May would be 4 months.

As to what you should do, well, if it is a case of needing replacement, free new sensor vs. paying the difference on a new model, it's pretty obvious which is the less expensive route if that matters at all, so long as the new sensor is free of the issues with the old one, and that's supposed to be the case. I purchased a new M262 anyway to use alongside the M9P when it returns and love it.

No way around it though, 4 months is a long time while you are waiting it out.

A redundant reply here, the M9 is a wonderful, capable device, and the last of the great CCD cameras.  If you are patient, I would stick with the M9 and await the M11 this fall for subsequent purchases.  Your depreciation will be very small.

Eric

• Like 1