MP viewfinder advice - I'm new to film!

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I will purchase a New or Mint MP . . . but which viewfinder?

The focal lengths I am interested in are: 28mm, 35mm, 50mm. After I have used those three focal lengths for some time, perhaps one  will be my go to lens 80% of the time (I am a relative newbie) as I am sure has been the situation with many of you.

Which MP viewfinder should I get - the .72 or .85 . . . considering, at this that I do not know which focal length will be my go to lens?

So, regarding those three focal lengths, could you please give me the pros and cons of the .72 and .85 in relation to each lens?

Many thanks,

ziggy

For 28mm, 35mm, 50mm lenses, the most versatile finder is the standard 0.72 finder which will display all three focal lengths and will work best with the 35mm and 50mm.

If you wear glasses, use the 28mm a lot and use a rather slow 50mm, a 0.58 finder might be an even better choice.

A 0.85 finder is not a good choice if you want to use your mentioned three focal lengths. It will be great for the 50mm, just about useful for the 35 (if you don't wear glasses) and you will need an external 28mm finder for your 28mm.

Thanks so much . . . One important thing I forgot to mention . . .

I    d o   w e a r   g l a s s e s   ! ! !

Does this change your advice?

. . . And yes, this will be my first Leica M - but I do want the black paint MP - just love the weight and feel of it in my hand!

ziggy

Glasses - 0.58 version imo. Otherwise no chance for the 28mm and no comfort for the 35mm.

Since it is your first: please don't let people talk you into M-A