Three weeks in Myanmar with the SL and 24-90

wlaidlaw

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have just come back after nearly three weeks in Myanmar with the SL and 24-90. I took just over 2000 images while there, plus a further 250 with my Leica C112. I have got to know the camera a lot better and the following are my thoughts of its benefits and problems, compared with my usual RF Leicas, which I have been using for over 50 years. 

1) No surprise - it is a heavy old lump and I reckon I must have built up the muscles in my left shoulder, where I normally carry it, as it seemed less heavy at the end than it did at the beginning. For a full day with a camera, I would still prefer my M240 (or other M) with a 35 Summicron. 

2) The GPS works very well and is a big advance on the M240 MF grip, which barely works at all. However it still does not work as well as the GPS on my wife's V-Lux 20, which not only gives you the coordinates but also can show the nearest place name at the bottom of the LCD. It has been very useful with pictures taken on the Irrawaddy river, to click from Capture One, "Show on map" which then links to Google maps to show the exact location of the shot. I am delighted that my frequent badgering of Phase One along with others, has finally paid off, with Version 9.1 including SL support, waiting for me on my return. The SL profile is a noticeable improvement on DNG Neutral or Leica Q, which I had been using. 

3) The image quality is a small advance on the M240 IQ in daylight but a substantial advance in low light, where both 3200 and 6400 ISO produce usable images. However I suspect it still lags a bit behind the Sony A7-II in this respect.