SL with R 180mm

G. van Asch

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have a Leica SL and want to buy a Canadian made Leica 180/3.4 APO-TELYT R Leitz Canada Sn: 2993418.

I will need an different adapter because Leica's adapter will be available end 2016.

Is there anybody who has experience with this lens? Does the adapter give a 1.5X focus?

Do I need just one adapter only?

I'm asking this because I have no experience with an adapter at all.

Thanks for an answer, Gerjan van Asch

I have a Leica SL and want to buy a Canadian made Leica 180/3.4 APO-TELYT R Leitz Canada Sn: 2993418.

I will need an different adapter because Leica's adapter will be available end 2016.

Is there anybody who has experience with this lens? Does the adapter give a 1.5X focus?

Do I need just one adapter only?

I'm asking this because I have no experience with an adapter at all.

Thanks for an answer, Gerjan van Asch

You need two adapters. Fit the Leica M Adapter T and then the Leica R Adapter M, then fit your R lens to that. This gives you access to set the lens profile for that lens on the SL. I use the Elmar-R 180/4 and the Elmarit-R 180/2.8 exactly this way. 

I don't know what you mean by "Does the adapter give a 1.5x focus?" The adapters allow the lens to mount on the SL as if the body was a Leica R SLR. That's all. 

The APO-Telyt -R 180mm f/3.4 works great on the SL, by the way, using the two adapters mentioned. The R-Adapter M portion even comes with a removable tripod foot which is very convenient. I had great luck taking scenically in Patagonia a few weeks ago with this combo--you can find some of my pictures in the Images thread about one or two pages from the current end of the thread. Handling is not wonderful on this lens and bokeh is a little busy, but resolution, contrast, and chromatic aberration control are absolutely first rate.

- Jared

Currently you need two adapters:

1- the T-M Adapter

2- M-R Adapter