B&W pictures on Leica M8

plong

• 4 months later...

@Paulmac, I totally agree with you.  There is something mechanical with the M8 and his view finder while taking B&W picture.  It makes me feel like the M3 or my M5.  

I have a Fuji X-Pro1 with his 16 mega pixels and it is to much digital for me and so many details.  You don't feel taking picture with a camera but holding a piece of technology.

Actually I am taking photo with my M8 using a Summitar 50mm form 1950....amazing 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by Plong
  • Like 11

Hi I am a newbie with a Leica M8.  I found in the M8 a wonderful camera with minimalist operations and a super cool alternative to my M5.

I have decided to got a M8 because  many bad reviews were posted....I said to myself they is something wrong with those ''teky weeky boys''.  They are all jealous, there is a conspiration agains Leica.....bad sensor, obsolete technology, ISO limitation poor resolution LCD, bad features...and so on.

But for me the M8 has proven to be an effective camera for B&W pictures and holding the M8 is like holding a part of the Leica heritage....not a piece of ''futile'' technologie.

Welcome to the forum.

I love my M8. In some ways, the black and white images it produces are better than my M-P (240). If only it didn't have the crop factor...

Ernst

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

In my opinion the M8 is the best Leica M digital for B&W photography - I have a Monochrom but I find the M8 to be better, giving files that have more "feel" to them.

The Monochrom is OK but to me the files look too digital whereas the M8 files give a more film like look.

Interesting comment Paul.

I've been thinking about getting a Monochrom (CCD)and have been wondering what the B&W image quality difference might be compared to the M8?

I could certainly use the higher ISO capability.

Ernst