Going full Leica...

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been a portrait photographer most of my 5 or so years being into photography, and had always used big DSLRs for photo shoots. They're practical, quick and they get the job done, at the behest of your spine! Recently I swapped from a tried and true Canon 5DIII setup to a Sony a7 with 55mm Zeiss lens for my own portraits, using my Leica M and 35mm for wider shots.

But in the end, I thought, why not get rid of the semi-redundant Sony a7 body that I only use for the odd photo shoot and just grab a 50mm Leica lens and be done with it? I'm quick with accurate rangefinder focusing so that's not actually an issue anymore.

So from now on I'll be doing my portrait shoots with my manual focus M body and 35mm/50mm Summarit lenses, even with all the speedlights and backdrops. Can't wait to produce some new work with this setup.

Leica's got me good!

Has anyone else done this and does proper photo shoots with an M? Curious as to your experiences.

Edited by nickjbedford
  • Like 1

What a curious statement from pico.

There is a time and a place for everything. Portraits with an M using 90mm are stunning. Very good with 50mm. 35mm probably too wide. Lots of recommendations for 75mm.

Maybe before selling your DSLR use it first and then offer to take some free shots with the M. You'll have the billies (billy bunters = punters = customers for US readers) ready and waiting and they can be the judges.

Worth a go?

Yes...weird response from pico.  But I do wonder what type of lighting you will be used with your DSLR that will work with your Leica?  I imagine you have that figured out, though.

Good for you!  Gutsy move that will probably work out well...maybe better than you think!!

• Like 1