best way to focus a Leica M wide open - fast

frogfish

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi guys,

I wonder what you think is the best way to focus a Leica M wide open:

To my knowledge there are two technics:

- always come from the far end and lock focus by view, so you always know witch way to turn

- prefocus and then do tiny adjustments when you see you are off.

(for your information, I am a professional documentary wedding photog who concentrates on being close and capture real emotions - latest blogpost if you care: http://hamburg-hochzeitsfotografen.de/heiraten-in-der-bucht-in-hamburg/

I have been shooting with Leicas for many year snow.

I can´t make it work for me though - yet. When I use my Leica for wedding work I get frustrated by the missed moments and get back to my AF set-up. But after some time I get soo bored that I come back and try again. There are many fellow wedding photogs who use the M at weddings, but honestly, and with all respect) I have yet one to see that really shoots dynamically, get close and get the moments).

Non wedding stuff, like personal work, is a different thing, when you miss a moment, no problem, there will be many more another time. But at weddings, you must get your stuff right - like: " Oh, you mean the moment your father kissed you on the forehead at the ceremony, right before he gave you away? Sorry, missed it..."  (0:

Please remember, we are talking wide open here, like 35 mm at 2.0. DOF at 1.2 meters is 12 cm. So zone-focusing does not work.

What is your take on this? How do you focus wide open - fast? Any tips?

Do you believe that one can get so good that you can set focus by feel reliably at, say, 3 given distances?

Thank you for your input and your expertise.

heiko

Edited by frogfish
  • Like 4

I've always pre focussed and then small adjustments with my eye glued to the finder. IMHO, very hard to focus by feel.