Portraits and the Q's 28mm lens

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Any comments regarding your experiences with portraits and the Q's 28mm lens.  Despite the unobtrusiveness of the Q, one has to position themselves extremely close to the subject so they do not include to most of the background.  

Have you found getting near a person (with a 28mm lens) to be a photographic problem or not? Thank you. 

I'm not sure if you're asking about 28mm being unflattering or if it's a problem simply because you have to get so close?  As a street photographer, I try to work close to my subjects anyhow, and compared to 35mm which I'm accustomed to, I do notice I need to step in even closer to get the same shot.  If you really want to have your subject fill the frame then you have to get very close as you might imagine.  

So far I haven't noticed a whole lot of issue with distortion, although I do think there might be some at the corners but I don't have enough samples yet to prove it.

This is the image I have that makes me think the kids look a little cone-headed, but my camera is inches from their faces in this shot too.

20151022-RKP-0355.jpg

• Like 1

Straight up portraits, no problem.

21844539294_339d5c36c3_m.jpgLouise by dancook1982, on Flickr

21807589735_ae11ec6bf6_m.jpgFear and Loathing in Bramley by dancook1982, on Flickr

These are great shots(as usual) curious, did you crop in at all, mostly wondering if the shot 'Louise' is as framed in the lens? Personally I've not seen any issues with portraits, I do however try to watch what's in the corners. 

• Like 2

These are great shots(as usual) curious, did you crop in at all, mostly wondering if the shot 'Louise' is as framed in the lens? Personally I've not seen any issues with portraits, I do however try to watch what's in the corners.

It looks like I did crop on the Louise one, i'd say not a great deal though.

Doug - 4000 x 6000 (no crop)

Louise - 3360 x 4933

• Like 1