Better Complement for a SUMMILUX 50mm ASPH lens: SUMMILUX 28mm or SUMMICROM 28mm?

CHAVES

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello Leica M shooters! 

I am an architect and photographer. My current kit of Leica lenses are: 

Super Elmar 21mm: mostly used for architectural shots! 

Summilux 50mm ASPH: my standard lens

Macro-Elmar 90mm: My short tele

I would like to add one lens between my current: 21mm and 50mm lenses. I feel a significant distance between 21 and 50...

I am looking a better complement for my Summilux 50mm.

I love the 21mm for architectural shots as I say, but is not faster enough, for shooting internal spaces, when there is not possibility of using tripod, like museums, temples, galleries, for example. 

I like the 1,4/50 a lot! I call it: "my magic lens" because of the representation and bokeh.

The 90 mm is my last addition! I am very happy with it. I use for shooting selective frames on landscapes and cities.

I had an 35mm Summicron but I sold it, for my, 35mm was very close of the 50mm, because of this I am thinking in a 28mm lens… as a "ALL PURPOSE" complement of the 50!
The use of 21 and 90mm lens, is for special-purpose.

I would like to read your advices and recommendations!

According with my explanation: What is better option: Summilux 28mm or Summicron 28mm lens?  

Thank you!

Ricardo
Edited by CHAVES

I only have the Summicron. It has the 46mm filter threads to match your 21 Super-Elmar and 50 Summilux.

I find it fine for indoor use on M9 (ISO 800, f/2.0, 1/30 is pretty dark) but YMMV.

I'm not familiar with the 28 Summilux. It has 49mm filter thread.

It does look like it has one of the vastly more convenient screw on hoods like the 21 SEM.

If money is no consideration, an extra stop is always desirable, so long as the size/weight aren't then an issue.

Whether it's needed or not, I couldn't say.

• Like 1