Leica Q vs DSLR vs Leica M9

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Many seem to have come to this forum from their ownership of a Fuji camera in some guise and I'm no different.

I've had the original X100 since it came out and its a beautiful camera. Its just, even with the software upgrades, extremely poor at focusing quickly.

With that I am looking to move to another camera and thought I'd share my dilemma. I mainly shoot street scenes (Dubai, London, NYC), landscapes (Peak District and Lakes) and my family (wife and a 15-month old toddler that the X100 simply can't capture in movement). I've been toying with the idea of moving to a DSLR and have been considering a Canon (6D) or Nikon (D750). Amazing cameras that they will be I'm just worried that I won't take them out as they are too heavy.

I then stumbled upon all of the amazing reviews for the Leica Q and wondered what everyone thought of this camera for my use. I am not a seasoned professional that needs a million controls for my imagery.

I want a good tool that simply works, ala Apple. The Q is a lot of money for me (not for Leica) so its a considerable investment. The other alternative is a used M9 with lens, so as I change the body when a new improved one comes out in 5-10 years, but I still have the glass that I've invested in.

Any thoughts, ideas or builds from you would be greatly appreciated.

Good Day,  from your comments it sounds like the Q would be a huge investment and would limit you to the 28mm lens.  May I suggest you look into the Type 109 Leica small, compact, Micro 4/3 and a decent zoom.  This camera focus extremely well (Panasonic technology) and I highly recommend as a pocket travel camera.

Cheers

You mention quite a few diverse things here, a DSLR, an M9 with lenses, the Q, quite a number of people will suggest something else again.