Considering swapping from Fuji to the Q

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Good morning,

This is my first post here and like all newbies I'm looking for advice! I live in Bolton, near Manchester in the UK and currently shooting with a Fuji x100 and Fuji XE1. Before I start I have to say I'm very happy with both of these cameras. I am an amateur and not planning on doing any paid work (though I've got a friend who wants some pictures for his webpage and CD covers etc). I shoot a bit of everything, street, portraits (usually family/friends), landscapes, architecture etc. 

I popped into the Leica store Manchester, what a fantastic experience! The service was great and I got to get my hands on lots of toys!

I got to have a go at the Q and I was very impressed. I've always wanted to own a Leica, my Grandpa was a photog and always used a Leica (M3 maybe) unfortunately someone put their finger through the shutter and my Dad sold it as the cost of repair was too high. I was very impressed by the handling, easy intuitive system and image quality of the the Q; as well as the good looks of course!

They have offered to take me on a test drive with the Q which is my next job to do. 

My question, I suppose, is is it worth the investment? Will Leica stop supporting the Q a few years down the line and any problems will be unfixable? Will the technology be so outdated that I'll be pining for the Leica Q2 in a few years? Is it that much better than the Fuji x100/s/t that it is worth the extra £2000.  Is there something better I could get? I wouldn't say that money isn't a problem, it always is, but I promised myself a Leica for my 30th birthday and £3000 was about the budget I set myself. My original plan was to get a film Leica and some glass but I'm not sure that I'll ever get around to developing/printing/scanning the film. 

I look forward to hearing your opinions

Rob

https://www.flickr.com/photos/rmpoole/