Leica Q or manual focus

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi,

I am new to the world of Leica and would like to get a feel for my question. A bit of back ground, I am a Nikon user (D300) and also Fuji (X100). I have always wanted a Leica but have little or no experience with the brand. I have 'played' with the Leica Q and Leica M8.2. I want to try my hand at using a manual focus Leica. 

So, would a Leica Q, used in manual focus (nice to have the autofocus) suffice or would the combination of Leica M8.2 with a 35mm lens (this is the pre-loved Leica they have at the local boutique) be a better option. I have tried the Leica M8.2 with the manual focus and it is ok for me. This is my first time using a rangefinder or truth be told a manual focus (all these time spoilt by autofocus). 

Thank you. 

Hi,

The Leica Q is designed as an AF camera, but has MF override. It's not a rangefinder camera however.

The M8.2 is a proper Leica rangefinder, MF only! So if your desire is a 'traditional' Leica then the M8.2 is the better option, which also allows you to try a huge range of Leica and other makers lenses.

Be aware though that the M8.2 has a 1.3X crop (so a 35mm lens = 45mm) and you should also know that Leica can no longer replace the rear LCD screen should it ever break.

I would suggest that you need to decide what you want to use the camera for and if you're happy with a fixed lens model. What do you want from the Leica that your other cameras can't do?

Hi,

Thanks for the response. Basically I want to explore and learn more about photography and would like to try my hand at manual focus. My main use for my camera is travel and family and perhaps to try out some new genre like street. I looked at the Q just in case I don't get into manual focus. The Leica M8.2 with lens is being offered at the same price as the Q.