Classic Metering Vs Advance Metering

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Please ignore my ignorance as i am new to M System and thank you all in advance for your help and guidance.

I have Just updated Firmware of my M  System to Latest one.

Could some one please shed some light on M Metering systems, Advance vs Classic Vs Classic No LV

Classic with NO LV is quite understandble and i have opted for no LV since  i am not a fan of LV on RF's!

What metering do you use & Why?

I do understand the sub metering modes I.e. Spot etc however could not really come across details about advanced.

Once again pls ignore the ignorance and thank you from new member here :)

Regards

Tim

Edited by tatetate

Just to Add,

On Previous firmware version, Classic Metering was sole type of metering with no selectable sub types ie. spot , central etc.

I can see with new firmware being installed, I can opt for Spot, Central and Full Metering in Classic Metering Mode.

If you are not using LV, there is only one available option, i.e. "classic" in which the exposure is center weighted on an area equal to about 1/3 of the sensor area and done using three light detectors placed in the bottom of the bayonet which measure the light reflected from the gray stripes painted on the metal shutter curtain.

Using LV you have the option to choose among classic, which is center weighted same as above but measured on the sensor, spot and multi field.

To the best of my knowledge the only change introduced with the latest FW is the addition of Classic/LV Disabled which prevents the accidental activation of LV. Without LV the classic mode only is possible.

Without LV you can use Classic or Advanced metering, not only Classic

(Fw 2.0.1.7)