New M8 user - some questions please!

Lewis

Advertisement (gone after registration)

So I finally got an M8 after years and years and years of wanting one.  It's not my first Leica.  I had a D-lux 2 some years ago but never really fell in love with it.  Since then i've had a plethora of various other cameras, ranging from Nikon FM3A's to Canon 5D's to Fuji's etc.  The one camera i've kept the longest is my ole trusty Ricoh GRD2!

Anyway I digress.  I took delivery of the M8 today along with a 35mm summarit lens (both used from a dealer of course) and I must say it's a thing of beauty.  I am new to rangefinder focusing so getting used to it.  I had a Fuji X100 when they first came out, and while not a rangefinder I enjoyed the way it worked.  However the focusing ability (or lack of it should I say) drove me mad and I sold it, vowing to go for manual focus in future.  So here I am.  Whipped off a few test shots tonight on the M8 and the results look good to me.  I have some questions which I am hoping you guys can assist with.

1.  Focusing:  I like to take landscape shots when out walking, how does one best focus as it's tricky to line up a distant tree in the rangefinder for example?  Do you normally just set it to inifnity and then stop it down to sharpen it all up?  I am after some tips and hints if at all possible.

2.  What's the best/fastest memory card?  I have a sandisk 2GB at the moment and notice it can be sluggish to write images.  I know the M8 isn't known for speed but is this something I can improve with a different memory card?

3.  I think there are a few specs (very light) on the sensor, as noticed the sky in a few shots has some light dots.  Is this something I can easily clean uising a blower and the normal 'sensor cleaning' method?

4.  What else should I check for to ensure the camera is operating correctly, it all seems ok so far but after reading about some of the issues that can occur I would like to be sure.

Thanks fellas.

Lewis