I would like to buy an M8! Questions...

Brycejh

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello!

My name is Bryce and I am new to the forums, I want to apologize in advance if my questions have been beat into the ground 1000x, I'm very new to the Leica M world..

I have been collecting cameras for quite some time, and have always dreamt of owning a Leica M (I have a Leica CM and it is one of my favorite film cameras).

I have saved up about $3,500-$4000 USD for my next camera, and am looking at a Leica M8 and lens, however with all of the stories of faulty sensors/LCD/shutter issues I am a bit nervous :(

Is there something that I should look for in terms of serial number? Should I buy from a specific source? Does anyone have one for sale? (haha sorry, had to ask!)

Any insight would be amazing!

Thank you!

Hi Bryce,

welcome to the forum, it's a nice and knowledgeable place.

With the sort of budget you have you can either buy an M8 and a couple of lenses, or an M9 and a lens.

Personally, I'd buy the M9. The M8 is a wonderful camera though, so if that is where you want to head, by all means. I just feel the M9 is a slightly better proposition. Having said that, you will get all manner of suggestions. Why not "handle" either/both and see what you think.

Gary

Hi Bryce,

welcome to the forum, it's a nice and knowledgeable place.

With the sort of budget you have you can either buy an M8 and a couple of lenses, or an M9 and a lens.

Personally, I'd buy the M9. The M8 is a wonderful camera though, so if that is where you want to head, by all means. I just feel the M9 is a slightly better proposition. Having said that, you will get all manner of suggestions. Why not "handle" either/both and see what you think.

Gary

Hey Gary! Thanks for the reply

Looking at the m9, the only ones I am seeing are right at my budget.. I would need to save up quite a bit more to get a lens, or am I missing something here?