coffee stain in 2015

fraswa

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone,

I'm relatively new with the digital Leica world as I always shot with M2 and Canon DSLR.

A month ago I decided to buy an used M8 because film is becoming more and more pricey where I live (Italy). I bought this fine M8 with 6k shutter count from a Leica boutique for some 1000euros. Last week the lcd started showing the famous coffee stain, so I called the store and they confirmed that the camera has 6 month warranty WITH THEM and they will likely send the camera to Solms and pay for the repair.

Then i read millions of threads here and apparently that store is not aware of the "lcd-coffeestain-nomoreparts" storm going on the past years and I emailed Leica customer service for advice.

No reply for the moment, just a "send us a picture describing your problem" standard email.

What can I expect and what are my best options?

I have 6 months warranty from my local store - most probably they will not be able to honor the warranty and they will give all my money back,

OR

Wait for Leica to make some kind of offer? They are gonna try to make me upgrade to M-E? at what price in 2015?

I'm really puzzled now, as I saved a lot and sold some canon equipment, and I had the lcd perfectly functional for only 2 weeks :'(

I know it's only aestethic, but I wanted that camera for years and it's a kind of depressing...

thanks for any advice,

Francesco

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

AFAIR Leica used to offer upgrades to M9 or M9-P bodies under the following conditions:

Within 2 years (warranty period): free of charge

Within 3 years: 1500 EUR (M9) or 1920 EUR (M9-P)

Within 4 years: 2000 EUR (M9) or 2420 EUR (M9-P)

Within 5 years: 2500 EUR (M9) or 2920 EUR (M9-P)

Within 6 years: 3000 EUR (M9) or 3420 EUR (M9-P)