Should I care? - Viewfinder separation

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hey fokks

I was about to switch my M6 for an MP but then i realized (because I'm still a student) I might just get away with another M (just want one that doesn't have the zinc stuff, brass only, that's the reason). It's a bit costly.

So, I was checking the M3, M2 & M4's but I was wondering if I should care about the viewfinder separation and silverthing (contrast of rangefinder patch).

Should I take it in account or isn't it that bad?

I would suggest finding out what such a repair would cost (for example check with Wil van Manen), add that to the price of the body you are looking at purchasing, and if the addition of the two values is below the cost for a body without the problem, then it is a reasonable deal, and you could always get the problem fixed later when you have the funds. There are plenty of bodies on the market at different prices so it would be worth spending some time to get a decent one.

I never go to Wil van Manen again. He's way too expensive, even Leica is less expensive.

I don't mind spending €1500-2000 on a good working M2/3/4 body if it's okay for another 15 years.

I would suggest finding out what such a repair would cost (for example check with Wil van Manen), add that to the price of the body you are looking at purchasing, and if the addition of the two values is below the cost for a body without the problem, then it is a reasonable deal, and you could always get the problem fixed later when you have the funds. There are plenty of bodies on the market at different prices so it would be worth spending some time to get a decent one.

I never go to Wil van Manen again. He's way too expensive, even Leica is less expensive.

I don't mind spending €1500-2000 on a good working M2/3/4 body if it's okay for another 15 years.