The perfect 50 for film

GSharp

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm seriously considering the move from digital to film. I already know that I want a Leica M6 from the research I've done, but I'm unsure on which lens I should go for. I know that I want my first lens to be 50mm, but I don't know how useful the extra light gathering abilities of the Summilux will be, considering that film is more limited than digital with regards to how high you can push the ISO. How valuable is that extra stop of light in lower light conditions? As I do intend to shoot indoors as well as outdoors.

Also, is the creamier Bokeh/rendering of the 'lux as apparent in film? I do like taking portraits so good Bokeh is something I do appreciate. Another thing I'd like to know is whether film can take full advantage of the sharpness of these lenses. Do the modern Leica lenses out resolve the capabilities of film?

Any help will be much appreciated.

I'm not an expert on all of the latest 50's but can tell you that the extra stop is useful in low light with film. I have a 50/2 (M and R) and have shot an older (non-ASPH) 50/1.4 M and a 50/1.4 ASPH R. All great but different. The old M Lux had the famous "Leica glow" (beautiful and atmospheric wide open), the 50/2 (M and R) is a great all around performer and very light and well balanced on the camera, and the 50/1.4 R was the 'best' lens in terms of contrast and corner sharpness, but slightly less sharp in the center than my 50 Summicron, both M and R.