Aviation fascination

Pecole

Advertisement (gone after registration)

And why not to devote, like our German-speaking pals, a thread to photos relating to the fascination for Aviation ? Personally, I have been fascinated by airplanes long before I was fascinated by Leicas, in fact as long as I can remember - that is to say as far as early 1940s - and Aviation has been at the very origin of my "discovery" of the Leica : when starting as an Aviation journalist and "covering" events like Farnborough or Le Bourget, I bought a second-hand IIIb/Elmar 5cm/Hektor 135 set. And of course I was a pilot, starting to fly as early as 14 (yes, everything was possible immediately after WW2 !) in everything, including gliders, gas balloons or even dirigibles.

My photo files include more than 20,000 "flying things" shots, not all digitalized yet, certainly not "artistic" but 99 percent taken with Leica and probably worth looking at, especially the oldest ones, for Aviation enthusiasts.

I'll start with two photos dating 1960 and taken in the mid of the then French Algerian Sahara. I toured the then new oil and gas exploration facilities, and to reach some remote spots we had to move from our old Avro XIX Anson (photos published earlier this month in my "Sahara 1960, a changing world" under the "Landscape and Travel" section) to a Sikorsky S-58 helicopter. When discovering the beast, I immediately noticed it was a former SABENA machine I had already flown before in Belgium.

Here are the photos :

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 8

Space Hhuttle Enterprise riding a special 747 on its to be part of the USS Intrepid Aerospace Museum

• Like 5

Speaking of aviation fascination - In the lowland Sepic region of Papua New Guinea:

• Like 4

In Bergdork Goodman's window

• Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)