First Time Leica Buyer

kiddo1955

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been doing research on purchasing my first digital Leica Camera and one lens. Any help would be beneficial from other members. I am looking at either the M8 or the M8.2, leaning towards the M8.2. Also, I am thinking either a Leica M 35 Summicron or the Leica M 50 Summicron. Mainly I am taking photos of scenery, a lot of car shows and one or two weddings. At this point I just can't see spending the extra $$$$ on an M9. Suggestions, input. I don't want to get in over my head as a first time Leica buyer, but have waited a long time to make this move and figured I would start out with basics and go from there. I learned years ago in the old film days about apertures, shutter speeds, focusing, etc. so I'm not a novice.

Welcome to the forum, Kiddo!

Your ideas are sound. Either lens would be a good match to an M8/8.2. Although the 35mm is widely regarded, I think you should think about a second lens even if not in your budget right now. For example, 35 + 70 (or 90) would make a good two lens kit. My choice would be a 50 Summicron or modern Summarit; then add a 28 and 90 in due time. That three lens kit served me for several decades with my M3. Be prepared for a range of differing advice from members.

The M8 or M8.2 is a good starting point to get into the digital side of Leica M photography. If you decide to spring for an M9 or M240 down the road, the lenses that fit the M8 will fit either of these full frame cameras. Same for any of the bayonet mount film M cameras. Backward (and forward) camera/lens compatibility is one of the strengths of the Leica M family of cameras.