Manual Focus with the Leica T . . . an article

• 3 weeks later...

Hi all, I am new to the T system and have been enjoying it for some time but I am a little puzzled about the manual focusing (with the original T lenses). I have the manual focus assist turned on in the menu but I cannot activate manual focusing - neither by turning the ring in the camera nor by trying to zoom on the screen.

Am I ignoring a setting of some kind or is there something wrong with the hardware of my T?

Hi all, I am new to the T system and have been enjoying it for some time but I am a little puzzled about the manual focusing (with the original T lenses). I have the manual focus assist turned on in the menu but I cannot activate manual focusing - neither by turning the ring in the camera nor by trying to zoom on the screen.

Am I ignoring a setting of some kind or is there something wrong with the hardware of my T?

Hi There

there is an icon in the menu that toggles MF/AF on and off - that should be you're way.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

NOW I got it to work :-) at least with the autofocus T lenses.

How would the magnification work then with M lenses attached through adapter? With the T lenses the camera knows when I turn the focusing ring and then it zooms. How does the camera know when a mechanical M lenses is being focused?

• 2 months later...
NOW I got it to work :-) at least with the autofocus T lenses.

How would the magnification work then with M lenses attached through adapter? With the T lenses the camera knows when I turn the focusing ring and then it zooms. How does the camera know when a mechanical M lenses is being focused?

I have this same question.

I'm seriously considering picking up a T to use with my Cron 35/2 ASPH on the Leica T adapter. Does the camera sense when an M lens focus ring is being turned and allow for automatic zooming? I wouldn't want to dedicate my left dial to zoom.

IMO the ideal would be allowing the video button to zoom...