M9 Longevity

Jarrito

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I've been shooting Leica film cameras for many years now, and for the first time I am considering buying a digital M body. In the US, a used Leica M9 can be acquired for anywhere between $3,500 to $4,200 USD from retailers with 6 month warranties. My only hesitation, is the fear that M9's wont be able to repaired before I'm done with the camera. If I was to shell out that much cash for a digital body, I would hope to keep it for quite a while. If I was unfortunate enough to have to get it repaired down the line, does anyone know the possibility of Leica not being able to service M9 cameras in a couple years? Three to five years? Does anyone know if they're still repairing M8's?

Also, how much do sensor repairs or others cost? Would love to hear peoples experiences with Leica repairs, especially in the US. I feel like it's inevitable considering I'm considering buying a second hand digital camera.

Edited by Jarrito
Clarifaction

There are many stories on the net about the sensor of the M9 cracking. Leica will replace, but apparently supplies of that (CCD) sensor are limited so replacement is not easy. Personally, I'll take the chance because the images that come out of this camera are simply superb - like no other camera I've used.

• Like 1

I think Leica in general stand behind their products even if they are out of warranty. Case in point, I purchased a m8.2 in 2009 and it worked flawlessly for 4 years and prob 40k clicks, and then developed the coffee stain issue. I was on the fence about even sending it in since it was not that big a deal to me but fearing that the LCD would completely fail I did send it to Leica NJ. It was well out of warranty and Lieca offered the upgrade to either the M-E or m240 at a very attractive price, I went with the M-E and I'm very pleased and see that lasting for sometime. They also did a similar upgrade for me on a point and shoot years ago. K

• Like 2