Request guidance, new to screwmount world

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello Leica enthusiasts:

Although my son is a media journalist and M8 user, and I am a long-term hobby photographer (started using a simple Adox Polo 35mm camera in Europe in 1961), I never needed to have a Leica camera. I thought they were exotic and too-expensive collectibles, instead of user cameras. For 35 years I used my beautiful Konica SLRs with excellent results.

Last month I toured the Leica factory (currently packing for the move back to Wetzlar). As an engineer I appreciated seeing these complex machines being built by hand, and now I better understand their appeal to technologists and photographers. So as I approach retirement, I decided to investigate the Leica screwmount film world, and have ordered a 1953 IIIf body in good condition (not delivered yet). These rangefinder cameras are still serviced in Canada by an expert near Toronto.

My requests for guidance concern a good user lens for the IIIf, and other useful accessories (as a bit of a collector, I would like the correct original caps, lens shade, filters, leather case, maybe a viewfinder, instruction booklet, etc.).

What Leica 1950s lenses do users of these old cameras recommend? From research I learned that my choice for a 1950s 50mm lens is either a Summitar or later Summicron, collapsible types. Is there much difference in performance, knowing that after scanning a few good negatives, I would only print these in maximum 5x7 inch prints?

And, how do I evaluate the condition of these 1950s lenses, assuming I have them in my hand?

I will appreciate all guidance from you enthusiasts. Perhaps someone has a spare, nice condition, screwmount lens available ...

Regards from Montreal