NovoFlex Bellows System

sanyasi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Leica Rumors had an article about a Novoflex bellows for a Leica M

camera.Novoflex - Bellows attachment CASTBAL T/S

The website says this is useful for macro photography. Could it also be used for architectural photographer to eliminate converging lines? Does anyone have any experience with this product that they could share?

Thanks

Jack Siegel

P.S. I searched the forum and found references to Novoflex, but not this product--so sorry if this has been covered elsewhere.

• Like 1

The only lens that will focus to longer distances (including infinity) is the lens they offer for sale as part of a kit. An APO 90mm Schneider. This lens is likely amazing quality, but at 90mm it is a bit limiting for many architectural 'endeavors'. The tilt shift abilities and macro, make this set up perfect for product photography and still life...and therefore worth the 1300 euros, IMO.

• Like 2

I am not technically oriented, so excuse my ignorance: Once the lens is attached to the bellows (rather than the camera), why do they limit the rig to the 90mm lens? Is there a technical reason, or is this a marketing decision?

Thanks

Jack Siegel

I am not technically oriented, so excuse my ignorance: Once the lens is attached to the bellows (rather than the camera), why do they limit the rig to the 90mm lens? Is there a technical reason, or is this a marketing decision?
There is no M mount used but some threaded mount. The lens used is - IMHO - a large format lens because you need a larger image circle to tilt and shift. Schneider Kreuznach offers APO Digitars from 35mm upwards, which is really, really wide for large format cameras. I guess you could use these with the bellows, too.

https://www.schneideroptics.com/ecommerce/CatalogSubCategoryDisplay.aspx?CID=202

Cheers,

Bernd

• Like 1

... why do they limit the rig to the 90 mm lens?