M240 hand grip

Sully

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been using my M240s for a few months without the hand grip which seems to be in very short supply (unobtainable). I really need that grip to use the camera safely. So, I rummaged around in my pile of old Leica stuff and found two metal grips for R Leicas made by GMP Products. GMP also made grips for regular M cameras, but the R grips had the camera screw in the center of the plate. I had a skilled machinist friend mill off the ledges that secured the grip to R Leicas. Now, the old R grip will fasten to the M240 securely. It handles well and even looks like an authentic Leica product. You still have to unbolt the unit to change batteries or cards. However, for me this is a small price to pay for a secure, comfortable grip. I don't know if GMP Products is still in business, but their grips were very well made with high quality aluminum and excellent machining. I also have a GMP Nikon grip which, with some mods, could be used on the M240. The Nikon grip has a big wheel to tighten it quickly to the camera. This will be a future project. The old GMP M grips could also be modified to use on the M240, but that would require drilling a a counter sink hole in the center of the grip.... something I was not ready to do. The R grip was the easiest to do.

Ciao, Sully

• Like 1

JIP,

I was afraid someone would ask for pictures. I am old and ....er....somewhat challanged by all things computer. But I will look around for a young person to help me do this. I actually would like to send some pictures of vintage Leica equipment to the Historica section. This will be the inspiration to learn how to send pictures. The contest: Will I learn to send photos faster then Leica can make the real M240 grips available.