New M Images

Guest Essemmlee

Guest Essemmlee

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm no expert on photography but I know what I like my images to look like. So, in the past few days I have wandered about the internet looking for new M photos. I've found a few now.

The striking thing about them, for me, is that they do look exactly the same as my Nikon images. They seem to lack the depth of colour, the richness and the tonality of the M8 and M9.

Like the majority of Leica owners I would like the best image making camera out there and in fairness to Leica, the M is not overpriced. But I want my images to look like M9 images, or better.

Is it possible that new development in RAW processors will assist or perhaps updated firmware (not that Leica are any use at firmware updates) may help.

What do you reckon?

What do you reckon?

I reckon that any current decent digital camera - Leica, Canon, Nikon, Sony - will give you a neutral enough image file to give you whatever look you require.

There is no inherent characteristic to any sensor (other than that in in the Monochrom) that is so strong it determines the feel of the final image.

• Like 6

It is quite clear (to me at least) that people looking at M files on the Internet are seeing exactly what they want to see. If they have no interest in buying one, then they say that the "Leica look" is missing and the files look ike Nikon or Canon files. If they want to buy an M then they think the files are terrific. But we have also seen that distinguishing which camera took a certain image is not so easy (other than conceivably the MM) so the "arguments" presented are really circular.

• Like 3

Guest Essemmlee
Can you post links to the images you are comparing please M8 / M9 / M Thanks

I'm not comparing M8/M9 and M on line. I'm recording my views on the M images I've seen on line, compared to my M8/M9 files.

As an example of M images on line you could try these: