18mm Viewfinder

zanydave

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Not sure if this has been brought up before but, looking to purchase an 18mm viewfinder to use with my 18mm super-elmar.

I have no hands on experience of the Leica or Zeiss version. I have read a couple of reviews but, does anybody here have advice on which would be the best way to go?..

Thanks in advance.

If size matters (and not money) the Leica viewfinder is very unobtrusive, so that I often leave it on the camera even if I changed the lens. The sight of the Leica finder is good, though it has the framelines for 24mm as well to use it on the M8. I find those 24m lines a little bit annoying .

The Zeiss finder is much bigger and much more square. Though I think the view is better than for the Leica finder - and though its not cheap, compared to the Leica its a bargain.

Hi Dave. Tried Zeiss first and while it had advantages like size returned it and went with Leica.

Zeiss seemed to be off center (or shoe is) so Leica finder was my choice for framing.

I also have the 24 Elmarit so finder works for both with FF. sold my 21-24-28 finder.

Hope this helps.

Ed

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Some here have written that the zeiss finder does not frame the image correctly due to an offset issue.

If you look at the Leica finder on top of he camera you'll see that it is not straight but in a slight angle from the outlines of the camera. This is necessary to achieve the best position in accordance to the lense's field of view. Since the Zeiss finder was made for the Zeiss Ikon camera, where the hotshoe and the lens are positioned differerently there should be some difference in the finder's field of view - though I don't know if this really matters.

... there should be some difference in the finder's field of view - though I don't know if this really matters.

I'm happy with my Zeiss and so far (2 years) with M9 and M9-P no problems.