color film recommendation for medium format

A miller

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have ben using a 1965 Linhof Technica Press recently with Kodak Porta colour film. The lens is a Zeiss 53mm. The colors come out faded, very (too) vintage looking. I know the camera is capable of producing very vivid colors. Is there a different film that is readily available on the market that I can try that will produce more vivid colors?? Thanks in advance!

Adam

Portra 800 and 400 have more vivid colors than Portra 160. For really saturated colors, Ektar 100 would be your first choice. However, to obtain good results with Ektar, exposure and processing have to be spot on, the margin for error is much smaller than with other color negative films. Also, it is not the best film for skin tones. There should be suitable offerings from Fuji too, but I have little personal experience with them.

• Like 1

Velvia would be the choice of many people.

If it was me, who gets to the end result by scanning and inkjet printing, then I prefer to use a less saturated film and increase saturation and contrast (if necessary) in post processing to the point I like it, rather than trying to tame a contrasty vivid film. But if you are using traditional printing methods this isn't an option. Ektar is difficult to control but I like it for 'street' photography where strong colour and deep shadows may be required, Velvia is more forgiving and good for saturated landscape work.

Steve

Adam, I am guessing here (risky I know) but the most likely variable in your work flow is the film processing and printing. If it is done by a lab, that is your most likely source of error. In this day and age, regrettably many/most good labs are gone, out of business.