R - Macro

dennersten

I have the 100/2.8 and it is superb. I have no direct experience of the 60, but reports are very favourable (possibly not quite as favourable as the 100, but it is available for a lot less money). Also, the 100 is perhaps a bit unwieldy as a general short telephoto (aside from macro) whereas I understand the 60 to be fine as a general standard focal length lens. Also bear in mind that to get down to 1:1, you need the dedicated ELPRO lens on the 100, whereas you can use the Macro Adapter on the 60. Personally, if deciding matters solely from the macro point of view, I would go for the 100 because you can position the camera just that bit further away from the subject, but, as I've tried to indicate, that's perhaps not the only consideration.

• Like 2

I have the 100/2.8 and it is superb. I have no direct experience of the 60, but reports are very favourable (possibly not quite as favourable as the 100, but it is available for a lot less money). Also, the 100 is perhaps a bit unwieldy as a general short telephoto (aside from macro) whereas I understand the 60 to be fine as a general standard focal length lens. Also bear in mind that to get down to 1:1, you need the dedicated ELPRO lens on the 100, whereas you can use the Macro Adapter on the 60. Personally, if deciding matters solely from the macro point of view, I would go for the 100 because you can position the camera just that bit further away from the subject, but, as I've tried to indicate, that's perhaps not the only consideration.

Great thanks! I will go out and buy just that! A new world is opening for me at spring.

/HD

• Like 1

I have the 60 Macro-Elmarit and have been extremely pleased with it. I do not have a 50mm for my D700 and use this as a "standard" lens.

There are macro shots taken with this combination and on a DMR, on my website, linked below. This one looks fantastic when viewed large

http://www.andybarton.com/Photography/PHOTOGRAPHY/Pages/Colour__Nature.html#8