Better late than never...gearing up a Leica R kit

dave.gt

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Ok, I am crazy.:p

But, I like having a plan to work within and when thinking about Leica photography, I have developed this plan of sorts. Mind you this is a future kit(s) that I am looking into...

Leica R kit using my existing gear (R4 + 50mm Cron) I would like to add:

- R8 Body

- 80mm Summilux

- 35mm Summicron

The R lenses above would complement a Leica M digital kit. Given the cost of a new Leica M, a second body would be too expensive, so must soldier on with the X1.

What is your dream R kit?

Hello Fernando.

Ok I must be more crazy then you.......Lol

I have been using Leica R since 1973 and still today, why because I LOVE THE SYSTEM.

Having both the M and R at most times I will use the R more often as to me it's so much easier to focus

On most subjects especially moving ones.

Now days my first choice is the R8 or R9 but also love the R7.

And when I want to impress people I take the M out as it matches my sports coat so well....Lol.

For my Digital use, I combine my R lenses with a Canon DSLR, But most likely order the M240 soon.

Good Luck.

Ken.

• Like 2

Dave, I think that is an excellent choice. The two focal lengths will cover a lot of subjects (a majority probably). I started with an R9, a 90/2 and a 35/1.4, which is a similar underlying philosophy. But be warned, it's a drug, and it's probably too late already!

• Like 1

I recently bought an R9 and have a wonderful 100/2,8 on it, though am looking for a 90/2 Apo for that extra stop and more compact dimensions vs. my 100/2,8. My MP is perfect with 35mm lenses, so I have no wish to buy one for my R9

Leica has given us so many combinations that it is hard for me to decide. I have been using the R4 for a long time now and have bonded with it as much as I have with the M3. I would like to have an M body with a meter, though.