Pre-order M on 9/18

JackLu123

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I pre-ordered M on 9/18 last year, contacted my dealer today, they said it is very unlikely I am going to get the first shipment?! I am new to Leica, I have been using X2 and I was very happy with it.

I thought pre-order on 9/18, would give me on to the top of the list, apparently not....

Should I have pre-oreder it from a Leica store instead?

I kinda preordered, or asked to be at on the list, for the "next M" a year ago. This at my favorite Leica dealer in Florida. So, now, I am told I am nearly first in line for the new M. Yep, you really have to think ahead if you want to get any new M Leica.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I hate to tell you this, but I asked to be put on a list for the "M10" in the summer of 2011. I have been told I am high on this dealer's list. But I am not the first one. I know it would seem like, if you commit the day the camera is announced, you should get yours when the first batch arrives. But the first batch, even for very large dealers, could be two or three cameras. This is, unfortunately, the way things work with a comparatively small company like Leica, producing highly sought after new cameras every three years.

I am sixth on the list at my local dealer. Also, put on the list at BH within three hours after they posted the camera on their site. I hope, I get one or the other fairly soon after Leica starts shipping.

The reality is I will likely pay a significant premium through eBay! That's how I got my Monochrom. When they finely arrive I will keep the dealer units and resell the eBay unit.

I got myself on a waiting list in January 2012 and there were already people ahead of me.

I've learned from the M8, M9, the 35 Summilux ASPH FLE and other Leica product releases that the only way to get a potentially popular Leica item as soon as possible after its release is to get on a wait-list at some dealer as soon as you hear a rumor.