Will there be new telephoto lenses for M?

mirekti

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm new to Leica, actually I don't own one yet.

If I understand corectly there were no telephoto lenses in range of 200mm as it would be very hard to compose and focus with it.

Now as EVF, live view and focus peaking came into the game, can we expect that something like 200mm will come out soon for M series?

Please move this to the lens section, I posted in a wrong... sorry.

Their lenses are huge because of the distance between the lens and the sensor, primarily. We will have to wait and see if Leica can keep the same small form factor if, they include AF in the M-system. But, I believe the longer M lenses may be where Leica starts this trend in one of their future M cameras, not the M240, of course.

The new M provides lots of options to attach long lenses, possibly new ones from Leica, Leica R glass, lenses from other manufacturers, easier when the lens has an aperture ring. All focussing takes place with the lens at working aperture, and for critical focussing, it will be necessary to open the lens up and stop down again for shooting, so it's hardly going to be suitable for the likes of sports photography. This is where the likes of Praktica were in the 1970s.

I think there will be renewed interest in the existing 135mm M lens because it will be rather easier to use on the M though Leica need to tidy up the confusion of not coding this lens - others here will explain what the issue is, I can't remember. Go beyond 135mm and you are now in a world of uncoupled M lenses which will suit the new camera only and therefore change the business case for making them.

It's going to be interesting to see where Leica takes M lenses: macro, T/S, zoom, telephoto, about the only thing we can be certain of is that the lenses will remain very expensive.