How to Use SF-20 Flash with an M7?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm thinking about getting an SF-20 to use with my M7. What exactly would I need to do to make this setup work correctly? I have searched all over, but I can't seem to find any simple layout of the steps involved. Do I need to always use the same shutter speed? How do I transfer the light reading from the camera or my meter to the flash unit? Let's say I am framing a shot and the meter reading without flash would require 1/30s shutter speed at f/2.0? What would I do next to use the flash?

Thanks and apologies for my naiveté. I have never used any sort of flash before.

(Disclaimer: I have never shot flash with a Leica, so I'm basing this upon my experience with other camera systems)

To start simple, all you need to do is set your chosen aperture (say, f/5.6 for some dof), choose the Flash sync speed on the shutter speed dial (in between 1/30s and 1/60s, actually 1/50s on the M7), and then set the Leica flash to auto (or TTL mode). Using the TTL metering, the flash will be able to adjust the output to match the requirements the scene has.

Of course you can also play around with different settings to get more creative. For example, the flash will only provide enough output to illuminate a certain range within the photo - for example with the settings above, maybe it will only light between 1m and 2.5m. This means that everything behind 2.5m will be exposed as if you were had no flash attached, and were just exposing at 1/50s and f/5.6. If the photo was being taken inside, this might work as there is typically some incidental light in the room as well, or you may just end up with a well flash exposed foreground, and a dark background.