My M6 arrived this morning.. which is it? :)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I understand the M6 is available with a couple of different viewfinder magnifications. The guy I bought mine from was unsure as to which this camera is. Is there a way to find out? And does it make much difference with a 50mm lens (and eventually a 28 or 35mm lens)?

Cheers!

Welly

I've been considering venturing back into film recently, having previously used Olympus SLR's in the form of OM2n's . Of late I've been using a Canon 5d mark 2 with a few L lenses which I have to say are fantastic,but it's all on the heavy side. I've also got an old Contax T which I've put a roll of black and white into (HP 5). I've been using a D-Lu4 for a couple of years which I have to say amazes me at times, I had a couple of pictures published in the travel section of the Telegraph that were taken on it.

I'm considering buying either a Leica M6 or M7, I am fascinated by the engineering in these works of art, it's a bit like the engineering on a Porsche, just fantastic and tactile. Anyway my point is, I'd like a mint one, if I'm going to take the plunge, and the ones that seem to be listed as such seem to be in China on the Internet. Has anyone bought from EBay, for Leica cameras that originate there ?. I'm reluctant to buy blind, but very few seem listed at UK dealers, certainly nothing at my nearest dealers in Manchester.

Edited by Lee Martin
Spelling mistake

The 0.72 viewfinder is the most versatile as it will give you frame lines for every lens from 28mm through 135mm.

The 0.58 is more for people who use primarily wider lenses and the 0.85 is for those who use longer lenses most frequently.

For use with the 28mm, 35mm and 50mm lenses, the 0.72 would be a good choice as would the 0.58 - not so much the 0.85 though.

Edited by Messsucherkamera
  • Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)