M6 metering and battery question

Advertisement (gone after registration)

After a month without being able to shoot, I had to change the battery on my M6 today because the arrows were barely visible. With the new batteries I got the impression that I could use a faster shutter speed and a smaller aperture than I had in the recent past. Is it me or the camera?!

This is my first M, and the first time I have changed the batteries since I came by it, so I have little experience to compare today with. Have I been overexposing during recent shoots? I haven't got round to developing any rolls yet, and will do so when my new Jobo arrives

I had assumed that the meter would remain accurate until the amount of power remaining in the battery reduced to a certain level, at which point the arrows would dissapear altogether.

Now I'm not sure if the meter is more accurate with a new battery, that the accuracy of it varies in linear relation to the power left in the battery, and that I should change the batteries more frequently.

I would be very grateful if anyone could please enlighten me on this subject!

Andy

I have never noticed this, but I also change my batteries once a year even if they don't need it. But, I can assume that low voltage would throw off the accuracy. Best thing to do is check the exposure with a known good meter (either another camera or hand held) against an 18% gray card under different lighting conditions. If you camera is like mine, you will find that it is not always the same as the other light meter, but never more than one f-stop off. I think this is true for most cameras and light meters.

Wayne

• Like 1

Many Thanks, Wayne.