New boy here.

Jimothy

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi folks. My name's Jim and 'm a brand new Leica user. That is to say I am brand new to using a Leica - I just took delivery of an M6.

I have a question for you more experienced guys. I dare say that it will be the first of many.

I have been a black and white film user for many years and, on my other cameras, I have a small selection of Lee filters. Because of the size of Lee filters I am thinking that maybe some screw in filters might be a better option for the M6. My quastion is this, how do i know what the filter thread size is on my 50mm Summicron? There are no markings as I have come to expect from Japanese manufacturers, though the inside of the lens cap says A42 - and I guess that the diameter of the lens is about 42mm-ish.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Welcome. Yes, the lens cap prints something like E39, E46 etc.. (E39 means 39mm, E46 = 46mm)

The lens has a similar identification printed at the front surrounding the glass.

Cheers, William

Jim, welcome to this forum! And yes, William is correct, all reasonably modern Leitz/Leica lenses I am aware of do quote "Exx" on the front ring surrounding the front element, wherein "xx" is a two digit number giving the required filter diameter in mm, while "E" is a German abbreviation for "Einschraub", which simply means 'screw in'. So "E39" would mean 39mm screw in filter, etc.

BTW, if your cap says "A42", that refers to a push-on cap for lenses having an outer diameter of 42mm ("A" is a German abbreviation for "Aufsteck", which means push on), So don't let yourself get confused by the two different markings, as one refers to the cap while the other one (on the lens) refers to the filter.

Cheers,

Andy

Thanks for the replies , guys. Maybe this lens isn't that modern as there is no E number on the front of it.

The writing around the front element says" "Summicron 1:2/50mm Leitz Wetzlar 260xxxx", obviously the last part is the serial number.