Wide lens for M8, suggestions?

pwrdesign

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all!

I'm an photographer at the architectual company I work at.

Until now I've used our 5DMKII with 24-70 and 50/1.8, and I've been pretty satisfied with it. Recently I've bought a Leica M8 (private) and love that camera more than anything else.

I'm about to purchase a wide angle lens for architectual photography, I can spend about 1100 EUR, and obviously want something wider than 24mm.

I'm allowed to either buy a lens to the 5DMKII or a wide lens for my M8.

I could probably get a Canon EF 20/2.8 USM, or the Zeiss Distagon 18/3.5 ZE if I want to go with the Eos 5DMKII, but what to aim for if I want to use my M8, the capabilities of the sensor is good enough for our needs, I will need a UV filter though, to get the colors correct.

What to aim for if I want to go with the M8?

The 15/4,5 Heliar ASPH II is cheap, and about 20mm, pretty ok...but color shifts and no possibility to add filters?

Any other ideas?

I can buy used ones...

/ Patrik

Patrik,

The version 2 of this lens takes 52mm filters. I used to own one. I kept my old v1 in LTM which is a bit harder to put filters on. You should hand code it to a WATE or an S-E18mm.

The CV 15 is a fine wide lens on the M8. I also like the ZM21/2.8. As far as Leica choices the S-E 18mm works well.

That said my favourite wideish angle lens on the M8 is the Elmarit 24/2.8. Not as wide, but a fantastic lens.

Carl

Got a few questions:

When I mount the voigtlander the switch for different framelines moves, should it do that?

And how do I code the lens?

In my meny all I can choose is lens detection: On, On+bv/ir, Off

Also, when focusing, I cant see any difference in the focus-field between 0.65-0.5 meter, nothing happends in this range when turning the focus ring...?

// Patrik

Edited by pwrdesign

Some test-shots taken, some strange results :)

I did not manage to code it... missing a good pencil, have go get that tomorrow...